Intergenerational Geographies Conference

This afternoon I am heading up to the University of Leeds to attend the Opening Panel for a one-day conference ‘Intergenerational Geographies: Spaces, identities, relationships and encounters’, which I am presenting at tomorrow. I am presenting in the Intergenerationality and Ageing stream alongside Paul Simpson (Manchester University), Christina Buse (University of Leeds) and Sarah Whiter (Leeds Metropolitan University). My paper is based on a journal article I would like to publish from my PhD which is about how men display their grandfather identities and relationships through the material objects in their homes. I am using the conference as an opportunity to gain feedback on the paper and its findings from people who are researching in this area and have a specific interest.

There are some really great people attending the conference including Jacqui Gabb (Open University), Gill Valentine (University of Leeds), Claudine Attias-Donfut (Centre Edgar Morin, France) and Robert Vanderbeck (University of Leeds), all people whose work I have cited in my thesis and publications.

There are also some really interesting themes including Migration, Mobility and Transnationalism, Spaces of Intergenerational Encounter, Work, Reciprocity and Care, and Memory, (Dis)continuity, and Identity. I am really excited about the event because I think it tackles some really poignant contemporary issues and I expect to gain some great contacts.

Leave a Reply

