Announcement over on my project website! My abstract has been accepted for the realism pre-conference 2015

I am delighted to announce that my abstract has been accepted for the pre-conference (for ECR’s and PhD researchers) for  ‘The state of the art of realist methodologies’, hosted by the University of Leeds this November. The title of my paper is Reflections on a realist approach to qualitative secondary analysis. It looks to be a fascinating conference with presentations from leaders in the field that showcase some of the innovations that have happened in realist synthesis, evaluation, and mixed method research. My own contribution is about how I have employed a realist methodology by conducting qualitative secondary analysis across two existing datasets to inform the conceptual framework of my new empirical study, ‘Men, Poverty and Lifetimes of Care’. Such an approach has led me to consider, and be up front about, the implications of my research design for the outcomes of the project, what Emmel (2014) terms, ‘getting out of the swamp’. In presenting the paper I am hoping to test out my ideas and to get some feedback from others interested in realism, so that I can refine a draft of a journal article that I am hoping to submit about this methodological approach.

To view the abstract for the paper or to get more information about my current research project, ‘Men, Poverty and Lifetimes of Care’, please visit my project website.

Reading

Maxwell, J. (2012) Qualitative Research Design: An interactive model, Third Edition, SAGE: London

Emmel, N. (2014) Sampling and Choosing Cases in Qualitative Research: A realist approach, Sage: London.

Leave a Reply

